You are here: Home / Council / Your Council / Organisational Structure

Organisational Structure

Council has developed an organisational structure that maximises the effectiveness of service delivery to the community.

Council comprises the Chief Executive Officer and Executive Services team along with two departments:

  • Corporate and Community Services 
  • Infrastructure Services 
The Chief Executive Officer, Directors and Mayor form the Executive Leadership Team. The role of the Executive Leadership Team is to provide consultation on issues regarding Council’s strategic direction and long term planning. 
View a copy of the Organisational Structure here, or read the information below.

Executive Services 

       Linda Cardew

CEO Linda Cardew

Human resources Governance and risk
Workplace health and safety Executive support
Major projects Land tenure
Media and communications Economic development
Elected member support Human resources

Corporate and Community Services 

        Director Corporate Services, Martin Cookson, 2016

Director Martin Cookson

Administration Payroll
Asset management Customer service
Finance Information technology
Insurance Leasing
Procurement Property maintenance
Public toilets Rates
Records management Senior units
Stores Local laws
Planning Environmental health
Tourism and events Grants     

Infrastructure Services 

Director Infrastructure Services, Robert Uebergang, 2016

Director Robert Uebergang

Airports Biosecurity
Electrincal maintenance Fleet and plant management
Flood damage Footpaths
Grids and grid maintenance Landfill maintenance
Parks and gardens Private works
Rest areas Roads maintenance, construction and drainage
Roads to Recovery projects Street cleaning and lighting
Town agents Waste collection
Water supply Wastewater maintenance

ABN: 45 425 085 688

10 Furneaux Street Cooktown, Qld 4895

Mail: PO Box 3 Cooktown, Qld 4895


Phone: (07) 4069 5444

Fax: (07) 4082 0588