Waste Management
You are here: Home / Services / Waste Management / Waste Transfer Stations

Waste Transfer Stations

Three main waste transfer stations exist in the shire with two landfill sites and other waste disposal points throughout the region.

Opening hours


7am - 4pm

7am  -  9am

3pm - 5pm

7am  -  9am

3pm - 5pm

7am  -  4pm Closed

8am - 12pm

12.30pm - 4.30pm



Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun


2pm-4pm Closed Closed 11am - 1pm Closed


Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
Closed 8am - 12pm Closed Closed Closed Closed 8am - 12pm
LAURA Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
1pm - 4pm Closed Closed Closed 1pm - 4pm Closed 2pm - 4pm

* Cooktown waste transfer station closed Sundays between 12.00pm and 12.30pm

* EFTPOS is available for minimum transactions of $10.00 (debit cards only - no credit cards) at Cooktown waste transfer station

* All waste transfer stations are closed on Christmas Day and Good Friday


What's free to dump?

Cook Shire residents can deposit any of the following materials, pre-sorted and separated, for free at local waste transfer stations:

Paper Cardboard
Aluminium cans Tin cans

Scrap metal (including car bodies)

Green waste
Pesticides (<5L) Lead acid batteries
Gas bottles Waste oil
White goods  Glass containers
Paints and oils (<20L) Plastic bottles
Solvents, bleach and detergents (<20L) e-waste (televisions, computers and computer accessiories
Mattresses Car bodies (with tyres removed)

Fees apply to all other types of waste and are outlined in the latest fees and charges schedule.

ABN: 45 425 085 688

10 Furneaux Street Cooktown, Qld 4895

Mail: PO Box 3 Cooktown, Qld 4895

Email: mail@cook.qld.gov.au

Phone: (07) 4069 5444

Fax: (07) 4082 0588