You are here: Home / Council / Advisory Committees

Advisory Committees

Council’s Advisory Committees provide advice and expertise on specific areas of Council services, facilities or programs and are constituted under S264 and S265 of the Local Government Regulation 2012.

A summary of the Advisory Committees are listed below.  Further details can be obtained from Council's Executive Assistant through our contact us service.

Advisory CommitteeBackgroundAims
Coen Advisory Group Established in September 2013

To provide advice and recommendations to Council on local government matters relating to the Coen community to ensure a broad representation to the Coen community through the ratepayers, residents, various agencies and land trusts.

Cooktown 2020 Advisory Committee Established in 2014

To develop and coordinate the Cooktown 2020 celebrations and program of events.

Waymburr Botanic Gardens Precinct Advisory Committee Created in July 2005 and taken a new focus in 2015

To advise Council on issues pertaining to the Nature's Powerhouse facility and the Botanic Gardens precinct in preparation for the 2020 celebrations.

Regional Arts Development Fund Advisory Committee

First created pre-1998 but the most recent appointment of members was July 2009.

To assist the delivery of Arts Queensland and Council investment by promoting the program and assessing and providing recommendations to Council on grant applications.

Invasive Plants and Animals Advisory Committee

Established September 2016

To provide input into the Biosecurity Plan for Cook Shire and serve as a forum to share knowledge on pest management and other biosecurity matters and to discuss emerging issues and projects.

ABN: 45 425 085 688

10 Furneaux Street Cooktown, Qld 4895

Mail: PO Box 3 Cooktown, Qld 4895


Phone: (07) 4082 0500

Fax: (07) 4082 0588

Hours: 8.45am-4.45pm Monday to Friday