You are here: Home / Council / News, Public Notices and Media Releases / Media Releases / Archived Media Releases / 2021 Media Releases / May 2021 / Inaugural Cook Shire Youth Council Elected

Inaugural Cook Shire Youth Council Elected

Back row (L-R): Shaelanee Hegamaea; Georgia MacMillan; Lilian Batemberski; Kya Haimes; Mikkia Wynter (Deputy Chair)Front row (L-R): Lakea Hegamaea; Willow Footer; Peta Buhmann; Veronika Buhmann (Chairperson)

PICTURED ABOVE: The elected members of the inaugural Cook Shire Youth Council - Back row (left - right): Shaelanee Hegamaea; Georgia Macmillan; Lilian Batemberski; Kya Haimes; Mikkia Wynter (Deputy Chair). Front row (left - right): Lakea Hegamaea; Willow Footer; Peta Buhmann; Veronika Buhmann (Chairperson).

Cook Shire Council would like to formally welcome and congratulate the recently appointed members of the inaugural Cook Shire Youth Council and the Youth Advisory Committee. 

The Youth Advisory Committee comprises all the 17 applicants who responded to Council’s call out for dedicated, passionate and enthusiastic young people earlier this year.

“Council was delighted with the high calibre of the applicants and the passionate and articulate responses they supplied as part of the application process,” said Cook Shire Mayor, Peter Scott.

The nine members of the Youth Council were elected by the Youth Advisory Committee at the inaugural meeting held on Wednesday 12 May 2021. Following the appointment of the Youth Councillors, a silent ballot was used to elect Veronika Buhmann Chairperson and Mikkia Wynter as Deputy Chairperson of the new Youth Council.

“With the nation watching as we countdown to the Cooktown & Cape York Expo, our new Youth Councillors will get to see and experience the very best of, what Cook Shire has to offer. It will set a benchmark for them and inspire them to continue to work together to share, celebrate and grow our community,” said Mayor Scott. “This really is a very special time for them and for our community and we are delighted to have them on board.” 

The Cook Shire Youth Council will play an important role in advising Council, and advocating on issues affecting the lives of children and young people in Cook Shire, while learning about how Local Government works, developing their leadership skills, learning more about their Cook Shire community, and participating in a range of community projects.

For more information contact Cook Shire Council via email at or phone on 4082 0500.

Download a PDF of this media release here.

ABN: 45 425 085 688

10 Furneaux Street Cooktown, Qld 4895

Mail: PO Box 3 Cooktown, Qld 4895


Phone: (07) 4082 0500

Fax: (07) 4082 0588

Hours: 8.45am-4.45pm Monday to Friday